top of page
Anchor 1

Steering Group


The Steering Group is responsible for the overall research activities at CMM, ensuring their performance in a successful manner. It acts as a supportive organ to the Director, who makes the formal decisions.

The Steering Group ensures a continuous discussion between the researchers and staff at CMM, the management and the Board. All CMM personnel are welcome to contribute to and are important in discussions regarding policies, recruitment and research focus in a simultaneous top-down and bottoms-up process. Relevant issues are discussed during regular meetings (once per month) and the Steering Group makes recommendations to the Director regarding actions. The Steering Group is responsible for the execution of decided activities.

Major issues, e.g. issues regarding organizational structure, are presented to the CMM Board together with basic data for decision making but the Steering Group is responsible for the execution of the made decision.


Questions within the scope of the Steering Group:

  • Organizational development

  • Strategies for the scientific development of CMM

  • Recruitment of scientists and groups

  • Termination or relocation of research groups

  • Support for research groups

  • Division of space

  • Common instruments and core facilities


The Steering Group consists of

Michael Sundström, PhD, Director

Peder S. Olofsson, Associate Professor, Specialist in Anesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine, Responsible Publisher

Maja Jagodic, Professor, Core facilities

Olle Kämpe, Professor, Senior Physician, Outreach program

Fredrik Piehl, Professor, Senior physician, Clinical research

Catharina Lavebratt, Associate Professor

Anchor 2
Anchor 3



The CMM Board is responsible for the quality of the research performed at CMM. To aid the Board in these matters we also have a Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), consisting of internationally recognized and prominent scientists. The CMM Board normally meets 4-6 times per year.


The CMM Board has the responsibility to ensure that the activities of CMM follow the original intentions as stated by the by-laws of the foundation.

The main task of the CMM Board is to promote thorough and boundary-crossing research within the areas mentioned in the by-laws of the foundation. This includes assuming the utmost responsibility for the continuous evaluation of the CMM activities and that the evaluations lead to concrete actions.

Board of directors

Liselotte Jansson, Chair, Secretary General Alzheimerfonden, Chair of Hypergene AB, Chair of the research foundation AlzeCure. Elected 2011. E-mail:

Lennart Låftman, MBA DHS, Chair of Erik Penser Fonder AB, CEO at the now closed 5th Swedish National Pension Fund. Elected 1999.

Ylva Pernow, MD and senior lecturer Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery, Karolinska Institutet. Representing Karolinska University Hospital. Elected 2015.

Sten Eirik Jacobsen, Professor, Karolinska Institutet and University of Oxford, England. Elected 2015.

Magnus Thyberg, Head of department Strategiska vårdgivarfrågor Region Stockholm. Elected 2019.

Lotta Håkansson, Chair Swedish Rheumatism Association. Elected 2019.



Substitute board member

Magnus Nordenskjöld, Professor, Karolinska Insitutet. Elected 2019



Anders Gustafsson, Professor, Vice President of Karolinska Institutet

bottom of page